The Bayou Gardener
December 22, 2014, 05:04:19 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Login Register Chat  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Sweet Corn... How much?  (Read 7471 times)
TheOntarioGardener
Top Gun

« on: August 06, 2011, 06:28:40 PM »

Hello everyone,

For those of you that grow and sell sweet corn, how much do you plant?

I am interested in selling sweet corn next year. Not on a huge scale, but some among a few other things at my roadside stand. This year I planted 600' of it. It isn't doing very well, as this is a new plot of land, and with the summer drought, it is to be expected. But, with composting and working the soil, I am confident that it will grow a lot better next year.

In my area, there are virtually no road side stands. Mine is doing so so this year, but again, it is my first year at this location and I don't have it posted as well as I can.

Anyways, any input would be appreciated.

Thanks,

~Jake
TOG

Zone 4B, Canada.
Kubota MX5100, Loader, 74" Tiller, 72" Rotary Mower, Middle Buster, Sub Soiler, Auger

www.youtube.com/theontariogardener
Lake Erie
A Gardener

« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2011, 05:00:17 AM »

Jake........ I don't know how much to tell you to plant, but I do know your big $$$ will be with early season corn.... Around here a dozen ears early in the season will go for ~ $6.00...... Last week a bag of corn ( 5-1/2 dozen ) sold for $12.00......... You need to hit the market early as that is where your good $$$$ will be made.

Brent

McCormick CT55U 4X4 Cab; JD 2X14" plows; Woods 6' Rotovator; KK 6' 3PH disc; Keulavator Hiller; various other 3PH implements, hand tools, etc
Retired 4/30/2011 after 37 years in manufacturing for heavy industry....ENJOYING being retired!!!
Brent
TheOntarioGardener
Top Gun

« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2011, 07:02:38 AM »

Thanks Brent,